Places with International Declaration in Costa Rica

Wetland of International Importance (Ramsar site) 
  1. Mangrove Potrero Grande
  2. Tamarindo National Wildlife Refuge Tamarindo
  3. Palo Verde National Park
  4. Sierpe National Wetlands
  5. National Wildlife Refuge Caño Negro
  6. Arenal Reservoir
  7. Cocos Island National Park
  8. Respingue Lagoon
  9. Gandoca Manzanillo National Wildlife Refuge 
  10. Northeast Caribbean Wetland
  11. Talamanca Tuberas

Biosphere Reserve 
  1. La Amistad Biosphere Reserve 
  2. Central Volcanic Range Biosphere Reserve
  3. Agua y Paz Biosphere Reserve
Natural Heritage Place
  1. Cocos Island National Park
  2. Guanacaste Conservation Area
  3. Talamanca Range - La Amistad
Wetlands of International Importance
The designation of a wetland of international importance (Ramsar site) is granted due to their biological richness and above all serves as a refuge for a significant number of seasonal migratory waterfowl.
The sites covered were born within the framework of the Ramsar Convention, Iran city where the convention was held in February 1971, so it is also commonly called Ramsar sites. This is the only global environmental convention that addresses a particular ecosystem - wetlands. It is considered as an intergovernmental agreement that provides the framework for national action and international cooperation for the conservation and rational use of wetlands worldwide.
Biosphere Reserves
Biosphere Reserves are "areas of terrestrial and coastal / marine ecosystems, or a combination thereof, recognized as such at international level under the UNESCO MAB Program". They are useful to impel harmonious integration of people and nature, to promote sustainable development through participatory dialogue, knowledge sharing, poverty reduction, well-being improvement, respect for cultural values and society adaptation ability to change.
Currently there are 610 places in 117 countries. Including 12 transboundary places.
Biosphere Reserves are included in the World Network by decision of the International Coordinating Council of MAB (Article 5 of the Statutory Framework) based on the proposals submitted. Every ten years each Biosphere Reserve of the World Network is evaluated in accordance with the provision of Article 9 - Periodic Review - the Statutory Framework.
Biosphere Reserves are internationally recognized but each country retains its sovereignty in the territories that are included in these. They are selected by a purely scientific interest, but also by the conservation and protection of biodiversity, economic and human development, research, education and information exchange, (Source: UNESCO, 2012).

World Heritage Places
Human Heritage or World Heritage is the title awarded by UNESCO to specific places / sites in the world (they are forest, mountain, lake, desert, building, architectural complex, or city) that have been nominated and confirmed for inclusion on the list maintained by the Heritage Site Program, administered by the Committee for World Heritage, composed of 21 member states and are elected by the General Assembly of Member States for a specified period.
The program objective is to catalog, preserve and make known sites of outstanding cultural or natural importance to the common heritage of humanity. Under certain conditions, listed sites can obtain funding for conservation of the Fund for the conservation of World Heritage. It was founded by the Convention for international cooperation in the protection of cultural and natural heritage of humanity, which was subsequently adopted by the General Conference of UNESCO on November 16, 1972.
Each World Heritage site / place belongs to the country where they are located, but is considered in the interest of the international community and must be preserved for future generations.
(Source: UNESCO, 2012).