Protected Wildlife Areas

Parque Nacional Manuel AntonioCosta Rica is worldwide recognized as one of the countries at the forefront of conservation and particularly by its system of protected areas. These efforts at conservation have been developing for many years, but only at the first half of the twentieth century it is formalized the creation of protective areas covered by a legal official figure.
This figure of a protected area, was consolidated with the creation of national parks, although other categories such as forest reserves were established, it is only through the national parks that our country has become into a nature tourist destination par excellence. Into the environmental legislation in the country, it has been given to SINAC the competence and responsibility of the management of officially established protected areas.
In this legislation they are called Protected Wildlife Areas (ASP by its Spanish acronym: Áreas Silvestres Protegidas), and defined as follows: "Delimited geographical space, officially declared and designated to a management category by virtue of its natural, cultural and / or economic importance, to fulfill with certain objectives of conservation and management". (DE-34433, Regulation Biodiversity Law, Art.3, paragraph a.) Then the SINAC is in charge, among others, of designing, updating, monitoring, evaluation and systematization of policies, plans, programs, projects, procedures, and manuals, at national level, for its implementation in terrestrial and marine Protected Wildlife Areas under its management at the national territory.
To meet this responsibility, several aspects are considered essential for the management of Wildlife Protected Areas, which are considered substantive and relevant to develop such management, maintain the integrity of these areas and meet the objectives of SINAC.
The ASP management categories of Costa Rica, our country, like many others in the world, have been established according to our own classification of management categories for our protected areas.
While conceptual and technical elements of the international classification will always remain, in our national system are added some nuances that are more representative of our reality. In our Biodiversity Law and its Regulations in particular, they have been identified the categories of management prevailing until now in the country.
a) Forest Reserves.
b) Protected Zones.
c) National Parks.
d) Biological Reserves.
e) National Wildlife Refuges: They are classified into three classes:
     e.1) National Wildlife Refuges state-owned.
     e.2) National Wildlife Refuges privately owned.
     e.3) National Wildlife Refuges mixed ownership.
f) Wetlands.
g) Natural Monuments.
h) Marine Reserves.
i) Marine Management Areas.
Followed the themes of the management of Protected Wildlife Areas are listed. Each title represents a link to the respective axis.
Information of the Protected Wild Areas